Custom Ford Maverick (Udog)

This white Ford Maverick caught my eye when I first saw it on the pegs. I bought it when Hot Wheels offered a buy 3 get 1 sale because it wasn’t really my “line”. As it turns out, I would really like this Custom Maverick.

IMG_20190125_230303-01

But the surprises don’t stop there. After digging around for information on this casting, I unearthed the fact that this is actually based on a real car. Another car built by Sung Kang. Yeah, that guy named Han in the Fast and the Furious franchise. He built a Custom ’72 Ford Maverick with a Rocket Bunny body kit, some Grabber-style carbon-fiber trunk, and bonnet and painted in white PPG paint. Talk about being understated. I guess that’s why it was called Udog, or Project Under Dog by Sung Kang’s team. From the car to the modifications, it wouldn’t be on most enthusiasts wish list. But when you see this build it will immediately grab you. The same is true for the Hot Wheels casting it would seem.

IMG_20190125_230316-01

Like I said, I found it interesting the first time I saw it on the pegs. Now, this is loose on my desk and a simple photo shoot had already been done. The car is nicely detailed for a mainline car. It has painted taillights and the U3 logo and stripes on the side. No headlight tampos, but it more than makes up for it with the body-kit and fender mirrors. Yes, fender mirrors are awesome. Not to mention the gold 10SP wheels that they used. Yes, it looks a bit oversized compared to the real car’s 8 spokes 17s on the front and 18s on the rear setup, but they make the car look good.

So I guess this one is a keeper then.

Please leave a Reply ... a nice one preferably.